Rom Manager (Install ROM from SD Card) Problem.

Kasi-

Reaction score
Hi, i have a Motorola Milestone with android 2.1. I Downloaded Rom Manager from market and used "Flash ClockworkModRecovery" And it seems like it worked. Then i tried to install ROM from SD Card and it told me to wipe and backup first so it tried to reboot into recovery. When the Recovery thing was loading halfway through it just booted like normal to my regular android home and skipped the recovery part. I need help.

Ps im a noob

BayouFlyFisher

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Hi, i have a Motorola Milestone with android 2.1. I Downloaded Rom Manager from market and used "Flash ClockworkModRecovery" And it seems like it worked. Then i tried to install ROM from SD Card and it told me to wipe and backup first so it tried to reboot into recovery. When the Recovery thing was loading halfway through it just booted like normal to my regular android home and skipped the recovery part. I need help.

Ps im a noob

Well, first I don't think it was telling you to wipe and backup first it was offering you those options. Check them and they happen, unchecked and they don't.

Clockwork has a bug that hits some folks and it is the reboot issue. When in Clockwork if the program lags and then reboots immediately press the X key on the physical keyboard. The phone will then reboot back into Clockwork and it will be totally stable from that point on. You can then do you install from sdcard.

BTW, the backup is a must. Make a backup prior to making any changes to the os. Wiping prior to install a new rom is almost always a good idea too.

Good luck.

OP
K

Kasi-

Reaction score
Sorry it didnt tell me to do it. I tried to press X but nothing happened. But can't i just go to recoverymode and use the update.zip thing? If i do a regular backup first?

Btw im stuck on creating a backup, how do i backup with nandroid. How do i install it etc?

BayouFlyFisher

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score