Rooting Droid X Questions

c_m_chance

Reaction score
Alright! I am a complete newb to to the android world. I just switched about 4 days ago and have a been a long time blackberry fan (and still am, so don't knock them too much.) :byeBB: But I have MUCH respect for the android OS and have been really wanting to get an android phone. So here I am now with the Droid X! WHOOP! dancedroid

With that said, I'm needing some information on rooting. I've done some searches and can't quite find all the information that I need. That could be because I'm not quite sure what rooting is exactly anyway. So I was wanting to ask some of my questions here and see what all you experts have to say.

First things first: bricking my phone. I just switched to Verizon from T-Mobile (big upgrade in my opinion having been with T-Mobile for about 8 years). If I root my Droid X, will Verizon lock up or "brick" my phone? I have read a few different things, but it seems that the final answer is that the phone can only be bricked if you install a new ROM. But rooting isn't actually installing a new ROM is it? It's just giving you superuser access, and ultimately, the ability to install a new ROM if you so desired, right?

Secondly: If I rooted my phone, is there a way to go back and "unroot" my phone without any damage done?

And the last thing to just let you know, I'm simply wanting to root my phone so I can take screen shots with it. It would be nice to delete some of the default apps that verizon put on that I can't delete as well, but the main thing is just wanting to take screen shots. As I find out more about all possibilities from a rooted phone, I might take advantage of some. With that said, do you experts think that rooting is completely reasonable and worth the risk/not very risky at all if that's all I'm wanting to do?

I hope that y'all can help me out!

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Reaction score