News and Weather Widget

nailerdog

Reaction score
As everyone is, I'm new to the TB. Came from a Droid X that I had running on Rubix. One of my favorite widgets was the "news and weather" widget. I could size it as I wanted and make it fit on my home screen as desired. Loved the scrolling news information and various catagories to choose from. I could select weather or no weather information.

Is there a way to load this on the TB? I would love to have it.

Thanks

nateccnn

Reaction score
I looked for it and can't find it in the market. Too many tv stations advertising their own widgets I got tired of scrolling through them all. Bummer..cuz I really liked that app.

The installed weather app sucks...can't even find the city of sparks Nevada.

Nate

OP
N

nailerdog

Reaction score
For weather I use Weatherbug Elite and like it a lot. I really want the news only widget from "news and weather" that I used previously in my Rubix load on the X. I'm wondering if we need to be AOSP to use it?

Can someone chime in?

OP
N

nailerdog

Reaction score
Yes, that is the one I was looking for. Thanks.

I downloaded it, moved it to the SD card and loaded it with Astro. When I attempt to open it force closes. Actually never opens. Bummer.

Anyone know of a version tht will run on the TB?

TechJPC

Reaction score
I'm trying to do the same on My X because my rom was missing it and I get the fc too.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

OP
N

nailerdog

Reaction score
It was on my Rubix ROM and I was very happy to get it back. Does anyone understand why it won't run on the TB or stock X?

techguru

Reaction score
@natey2 that one force closes on the thunderbolt as well. I have not been able to find a compatible version yet. Kind of bums me out, although on previous phones (DX and Dinc) this widget has seemed to be a battery eater.

pistol_pete

Reaction score