Trying to upgrade old version of liberty on a Droid X. Please help!

krispf3

Reaction score
Hi,

About 2 years ago I rooted my phone and put the liberty rom on. It's been great but I'm not tech savvy and have no idea how to upgrade the very old version. Please help!

Android version 2.2.1
verizon wireless
Liberty version 2.0.1

I want to upgrade because some of the problems i've been having include:

random application crashes
lag
very slow typing

How would I go about upgrading? I'm not familiar with the lingo anymore. I can't even believe I researched enough to root it in the first place!

Thank you!

OP
K

krispf3

Reaction score
Sorry to bump this but I really want to upgrade my phone. Can someone please provide step by step instructions for a noob??

cobravnm13

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Samsung Galaxy Note 9
I don't know anything about the DX, so I don't know the button sequences to boot into the recovery, but the steps you would need to do are this:

1. Download the ROM you want to upgrade to
2. Boot into recovery
3. Backup your current ROM
4. Do a Factory Data Reset/Wipe data and cache
5. Select "Install ROM"
6. Choose whichever ROM you have selected to flash
7. Flash said ROM
8. Wipe data and cache again
9. Boot phone, set up all of your info, let sit for about 10 - 15 minutes to settle, then install all your apps.

If you use Titanium Backup, or know how to, make sure to backup all the apps you want to keep prior to following above steps. If you don't have it, there's a free version in the Play Store. It's an invaluable tool for Rooters and ROMers. Easy to use. If you need any more help, I'll do my best to assist you.

cobravnm13

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Samsung Galaxy Note 9