SteelDroid ROM / Cortex ROM Developer
Developer
Reaction score
Website
steelroms.com
Current Phone Model
Nexus 6P, VZW Note Edge, D1
Box.jpg
OK, so I won the contest not too long ago, and used the money to get myself the prize, a new Google Nexus Player.

After unboxing it, and with little to no setup instructions, I got it up and functional. Its not bad. Not nearly as feature packed as some other set top boxes, but its fun to play with. I use it mostly for Netflix.

Now, being a developer, I wanted to dive deeper into it. So far, I have rooted it, enabled the developer menu, set up debugging, updated it to "Android 5.0", and took a look at recovery.

1201141939.jpg

1201140006.jpg

1201140004.jpg

1130142347.jpg

Now we take a look at the recovery menu:
1201141912.jpg

1201141912a.jpg

And the bootloader screen:
1201141932.jpg

My next step, is going to be dumping the whole contents of the device locally, and see what I can pick apart. First things first, I need to make sure I have a way of getting this thing back to working condition, should I screw it up somehow. But for now, a system dump should be a good thing work on.

I'll add more pictures as I take them.

Attachments

• 1201141926.jpg
    1201141926.jpg
    61.9 KB · Views: 506
  • 1201141926a.jpg
    1201141926a.jpg
    67 KB · Views: 509
Last edited:

pc747

Rescue Squad
Reaction score
How are you liking the Nexus player @chevycam94 , been thinking about buying one but have not seen any thing that set it apart or made it worth me buying since I already have a chromecast.

OP
chevycam94

chevycam94

Developer
Reaction score
Website
steelroms.com
Current Phone Model