Need to hack phone for louder ringer volume

NoTechGeek

Reaction score
Can anybody give a novice some easy to follow advice on how I can hack my Droid 2 Global running 2.3.3 so I can increase the ringer volume. I'm a bit hard of hearing so I need more volume. I just loaded an old Bell phone ringer ringtone and it would be great if I could hear it.

Ray

Sheffy007

Reaction score
Can anybody give a novice some easy to follow advice on how I can hack my Droid 2 Global running 2.3.3 so I can increase the ringer volume. I'm a bit hard of hearing so I need more volume. I just loaded an old Bell phone ringer ringtone and it would be great if I could hear it.

Ray

Is your phone rooted?

Sent from my XT862 using DroidForums

OP
N

NoTechGeek

Reaction score
I'm sorry. As I said, I'm a novice at this hacking stuff. What does "rooted" mean? Please explain in simple terms.

Ray

Sheffy007

Reaction score
Oh I apologize. Well, an android phone is sort of like a computer. They have files, such as the operating system and other system files. The SD card on your phone is comparable to the hard drive on your computer, where all user data is saved. Being rooted gives you access to all the system data and directories on your phone. This pretty much gives you free reign to whatever you want to do in your phone. This includes raising the maximum volume on your phone, turning the brightness below the minimum value, and make the phone faster by changing the system or "flash" a custom rom. And Volume+ is only for root users.

fwaggle

Reaction score