First time android user questions etc

SrivashRaul999

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new here and was looking for a battery saver app for my old Xperia Arc S. I am not rooted and this Arc S is my first android phone (can't really afford the newer ones) so I am just learning the ropes of using it. I am on Android ver2.3.4 and Kernel 2.6.32.9-perf. I just observed that I have to charge it often daily to get it up and running. Is there a battery saver app that I can use for the Arc S..?

Along this line might I ask also for better apps other than:

Astro File Manager

ClearMaster

Media player app aside from the stock player..?

Or better yet what maybe the "needed" apps for a newbie like me..?

Second is that I seem to see that there aren't any firewall for droids that aren't rooted...I am concerned about sensitive info being passed on to sites from the permissions that I give. How do you keep safe from that..? I have AVG Pro from a promotion and it's still for a year.

-"Battery saver" apps consume more battery than they save.

-Antivirus software also needlessly consumes battery life.

-To protect from permissions giving access to sensitive info apply these principles in order:

1) Don't install anything you're unsure of.

2) Be wary of anything that gives access to your internet connection. They need this access to send your information.

3) Use common sense. Ex: "No, this calculator app probably doesn't need access to my contacts and my internet connection..."

-"Battery saver" apps consume more battery than they save.

-Antivirus software also needlessly consumes battery life.

-To protect from permissions giving access to sensitive info apply these principles in order:

1) Don't install anything you're unsure of.

2) Be wary of anything that gives access to your internet connection. They need this access to send your information.

3) Use common sense. Ex: "No, this calculator app probably doesn't need access to my contacts and my internet connection..."